Naked slip into  warm  gumboots and  wade to the darkness to  bring billets. You said that this is a very good thing, because to do so and the wolf.  In the distance snow strident, bubbling kettle tea, through an old wooden floor crawls spider-you afraid of spiders.  I sit on the ledge of the couch and pretend to be trying to fire the hearth which is already well dead : never didn’t know how to do it properly. I strike a match, clasp some newspapers still throwing my eyes on various clippings. Thus  you run inside and  overtake me playing, you holde a truss of wood. Throw  it on the ground and you ,trembling, shake down a snow.  I see that you have a cold, but nothing ask you, because it’s clear that you’ll lie. And you remain silent, knowing that otherwise blurt out a nonsense.
Although the sky is overcast, the two are going to see the moon.

It was the New Year evening, you three picked me up and we went on walking to the forest. The sky was cloudless, only few dogs were barking. All the neighbourhood started to celebrate. You were so talkactive as never, M was bored and listened to the music through his headphones, K had smoked too much, I guess. You wore  new black knitted gloves which I made and you were too excited. You always knew how to enjoy simple things and that’s what I always loved. I had inside of my coat’s pocket a chestnut which you gave me one day  when we went home by bus. I never planted it, although I had to.
In the back of my garden now grows a chestnut tree…

***

Sonnet CXVI

Let me not to the marriage of true minds
Admit impediments. Love is not love
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove:
O no! it is an ever-fixed mark
That looks on tempests and is never shaken;
It is the star to every wandering bark,
Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.
Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
Within his bending sickle’s compass come:
Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
But bears it out even to the edge of doom.
If this be error and upon me proved,
I never writ, nor no man ever loved.

***

It was that winter when I read you my favorite sonnet, it was that winter when you smiled and asked me never to cut my hair. It was that winter when we boiled a soup in the forest and I hugged trees. It was that winter when you missed a train and I waited you few hours in the station. It was that winter when you taught me to fish, and it was that winter when we sang. It was that winter when you loved to ski on the lake or to sit in front of a fireplace. It was that winter when you played me the flute. Also it was that winter when we shouted so loud in the street and laughed after being so crazy. It was that winter when I cried and saw you so angry, but also it was that winter when you smiled, I smiled. It was that winter, a very cold winter.


